Mary Berry’s Cherry Cake

IMG_3634

Apologies for the delay in posting.  No real reason; time just ran away with me!  And, yes, it’s another of the great MB’s recipes.  And another GBBO one at that!  This cake looked great on the show, and I was keen to try my hand at overcoming the technical challenges of this, uhm, technical challenge recipe.

I took the recipe straight from Mary Berry’s website here.  Instead of making it as a single cake, I did it as mini-cakes.  I used silicone muffin moulds to make it easier to get out.  They came out a treat!  They were really sweet, though, so I would definitely go with less sugar next time.

Also, it can be quite easy to burn the almonds.  Despite seeing one of the GBBO contestants make this mistake, I still made it too!  It can go from very lightly toasted to burned in a matter of seconds.  Don’t just remove it from the heat but remove it from the pan as soon as possible, as it will continue to cook with the residual heat.

For those in Australia, if you are considering homebrand glace cherries, please stick to the Coles ones – they are heaps better, and cheaper, if memory serves.  These pictures should make the difference clear!

IMG_3628

  Woolworths Homebrand Glace Cherries

IMG_3629

Coles Homebrand Glace Cherries

Leave a comment