Paul Hollywood’s Chocolate Brownies

IMG_3772

Wow, I cannot believe how long it’s been since I’ve posted!  I’ve made this brownie four times since my last post!  At least it should give my comments some weight.  We’re changing tack here, but retaining the GBBO focus.  This time it is the turn of the imitable Mr Hollywood.

My husband’s colleague asked for a brownie that contained both fruit and nuts.  It just so happens that the brownie recipe in Paul Hollywood’s How to Bake fits the bill perfectly, as it calls for walnuts and cranberries.  This is the first brownie I’ve ever baked from scratch, and it has received rave reviews from all four audiences.  I might have sampled a piece or two myself!

Here are my comments on the recipe:

  • Any dark chocolate would do instead of the Bourneville chocolate.
  • Buy the walnuts whole and roughly chop them yourself.  It’s so much cheaper!
  • Go through the cranberries before you add them into the mix.  They tend to clump together.
  • I was never sure if I got the consistency of the egg and sugar mixture right; it never held a trail particularly well.  I just beat it for a long time until it was light and frothy.
  • I could also not be sure when the brownie was fully cooked, but as it’s a brownie it doesn’t really matter that much!  You want it to be moist inside.
  • Definitely have it with cream.  It’s quite a rich dessert and needs the cream to mellow it somewhat.

I would definitely recommend that you try this recipe.  It will be my go-to dessert to take along on visits.

There might be some silence from me again over the coming weeks as I prepare for our little girl’s birthday party.  There should be some good recipes to share as a result of it, though.

Leave a comment